The Department of Urdu is one of the outstanding departments of GC University Lahore. Prominent educationists and eminent scholars have been associated with this Department.  Prof. Ahmad Shah Bokhari (Patras), Soofi Ghulam Mustafa Tabassum, Kh. Manzoor Hussain, Dr. Muhammad Sadiq, G.M. Asar, Dr. Moeen ur Rehman, Prof. Dr. Sohail Ahmad Khan,Dr. Waheed Qureshi are some of the intellectuals who have been part of the Department.

Postgraduate classes in Urdu were initiated under the auspices of A.S. Bukhari. MA classes were started again in 1985 after an interval of few years. The Department of Urdu revised its syllabi after Government College Lahore became a Degree Awarding Institution in 1997, and made more significant changes when GC was granted the status of a University in 2002.