Posted on 2022-11-12

GCU awards co-curricular Rolls of Honor to 55 students

The Government College University Lahore on Saturday awarded Rolls of Honor to 55 students and medals to 15 for their exceptional performance in co-curricular activities during 2021-22. 
Vice-Chancellor Prof. Dr. Agshar Zaidi along with Distinguished Professor Dr. Zaheer-ud-Khan awarded the rolls of honor to students on second day of convocation.   
As many 2303 degrees are being awarded at the GCU’s 20th Convocation which is spread over three days. It includes total 67 PhD degrees and 692 MS/MPhil degrees. As many as five students will also be awarded Roll of Honor for their outstanding achievements in sports during the last academic year.    
In his address, Vice Chancellor Prof. Zaidi said the unique grooming of students at GCU is hinged on the wonderful efforts of its co-curricular societies and clubs run by students. “It enhances their leadership abilities and brings to the surface their creative and analytical skills,” he added.  
He said 92 societies and clubs at GCU cater to diverse activities under the aegis of the GCU Societies’ Board; the students are encouraged to raise significant questions, entertain difference of opinion, form their opinions on the basis of sound arguments, and have tolerance towards the faith, beliefs, religion and ideas of other people.
He said that the first and biggest All Pakistan Summit for Students’ Societies was held at GCU in last academic year. 
The Vice Chancellor advised graduates that in pursuit of splendor and glory, they ought to preserve the traditions of creativity, insight and perseverance which are always cherished at GCU. “Your success lies in the measure of resilience and cerebral vigor,” he said. 
Distinguished Professor Dr. Zaheer-ud-Khan also congratulated the graduates, saying that “this is just the beginning; you are a star in the making.” 
At the concluding session of the convocation, besides degrees and awards, the University will also confer the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Awards upon its ten distinguished alumni from different walks of life to recognize their career-long outstanding work and achievements. Punjab Chief Minister Parvez Elahi is also expected to grace this special occasion.   
Old Ravians to be honored this year are Dr Muhammad Amjad Saqib, Aitzaz Ahsan, Dr Arfa Sayeda Zehra, Hadiqa Kiani, Dr Samar Mubarakmand, Ramiz Raja, Prof. Dr Javed Akram, Shamshad Ahmad, Prof. Khurshid Rizvi and Professor Ahmed Rafique Akhtar.

Share: Facebook Twitter Google Plus WhatsApp Email Print