Old Ravian Union (Alumni)

Old Ravian Union (Alumni)

OLD RAVIANS UNION, Pakistan is an elected body of former students of GC University, Lahore (previously known Government College Lahore). The Union was established in 1934 and revived in 1995. It is the only organization of Old Ravians which has affiliation of the GC University, Lahore therefore its office is situated in the Campus…(more)


The executive committee of Old Ravians Union has welcomed the appointment of Prof Dr Asghar Zaidi, a world-renowned social policy analyst and expert, as the Vice Chancellor of Government College University Lahore. In a press statement issued here on Thursday, ORU President Ashfaq Mohlan, Honorary Secretary Prof Dr Khalid Manzoor Butt and Secretary General Syed Tayyab Hussian Rizvi congratulated Prof. Zaidi and assured him of all-support from Old Ravians for the development of their alma mater.

The union executive committee stated that Prof. Zaidi had brought with him a vast international experience which was much needed for improving the international ranking and research output of the university. They rated this appointment as a good fortune for the GCU Lahore as a person of his caliber, who was teaching in world top universities, had decided to return to Pakistan and serve his alma mater. The union executive committee also expressed gratitude that Prof. Zaidi was Old Ravian and fully understood the culture and traditions of GCU Lahore. They said that Prof. Zaidi was a feeling honored and humbled while assuming charge as GCU VC.

The elections of Old Ravians Union was held here Sunday at the Government College University Lahore. The university’s alumni elected the new Executive Committee of theUnion for session 2018-2020.

Punjab Senior Minister Abdul Aleem Khan, senior advocate Hamid Khan, University of Health Sciences Vice Chancellor Professor Dr Javed Akram, King Edward Medical University VC Prof Dr Khalid Masood Gondal, Mayo Hospital CEO Prof Dr Asad Aslam, famous singer Shafqat Amanat Ali Khan, music director Waris Baig and a large number of other senior bureaucrats, politicians and businessmen casted their votes at the Union’s elections.

Ashfaq Mohlan elected the union’s new president, while Rana Shahzad Iqbal Khan, Syeda Saadia Ghaznavi, Syed Tayyab Hussain Rizvi and Farrukh Hayat Pannoun stood victorious on the seats Vice President, Vice President (Ladies), Secretary General and Treasurer respectively.

Mohammad Naeem Tahir, Najum Latif, Naveed Ahmed, Usman Saeed and Ahsan Javed Gujjarelected executive members of the union.There was a tie on the seat of Executive Member 1970s between Muhammad Wasif Idress Nagi and Prof M. Awar ul Haq.

The election committee, comprising former Sessions Judge Abdus Salam Khawar, Distinguished National Professor Dr Ikram ul Haq and faculty member Dr. Ahmed Raza Khan announced the results after the the polling held on the university premises from 9am to 4:30pm on Sunday.

Vice Chancellor Prof Dr Hassan Amir Shah and ORU honorary Secretary Prof Dr Khalid Manzoor Butt congratulated the new executive committee of the union, and hoped that they would actively participate in the progress and development of their alma mater.

Earlier, ORU outgoing President Kazi Afaq Hossain chaired the Annual General Body meeting of the Union which approved the ORU accounts for the year 2016-18.



Mr. Muhammad Mehtab Ahmed
Honorary Secretary,
Old Ravian Union, Main Building
GC University, Lahore 54000
UAN 111 000 010 Ext: 417
E-Mail: mehtab.ahmed@gcu.edu.pk

For further details Click Here to visit the Old Ravian’s Union (GCU Alumni) Web Site.

606, 6th
Floor Kashif Centre
Telephone: (92 21) 35652784, 35652787
Fax: (92 21) 35652784

Please Click Here to access website of Old Ravians’ Association, Karachi