Vice Chancellor - Prof. Dr. Hassan Amir Shah, Sitara-i-Imtiaz

                                   Home    About Us | VC's Page | Admissions | Academics | Facilities | Library | Affiliation | Jobs  | Latest News | Upcoming Events | Contact us                          

Information for

Information about

Quick Links


Quick Links on WWW
Last Modified
You are Visitor #


click analytics
Since 02-08-13

The Environmental Protection Society




Environment Protection Society (EPS) was established in 1991 and is one of the University level societies working for the cause of creating awareness among the students at the campus regarding the Environmental issues, threats and need for environment protection. Muhammad Ali was elected first President and Mian Muhammad Hamza Shahbaz Sharif was First Secretary of the society. Prof. Javed Nazir acted as the first Advisor of the Society.





EPS for the last 17 years has been organizing on yearly basis:

  • Environmental Painting and Poster Competition.

  • Environmental Drama Festival.

  • Environmental Surveys.

  • Seminars, Lectures and Debating Competitions.

  • Trips, Walks and Campaigns for creating awareness about the environmental hazards.

  • EPS is also publishing magazine EPS times on yearly basis. 



News & Events


GCU, WAPDA celebrate Earth Day


The Government College University Lahore Environment Protection Society (GCU-EPS) and Water and Power Development Authority (WAPDA) jointly celebrated the Earth Day by holding an Inter-Universities Painting Competition at the university’s Sustainable Development Study Center (SDSC).   


A large number of students from different educational institutions displayed their artwork on the themes of Pollution, Climate Change and Trees for the Earth. The competition was aimed at raising awareness among students about the environmental issues.    

Speaking on the occasion, GCU-SDSC Director Dr Amtul Bari Tabinda said that a strong political will was required to protect the Earth against climate change.


Water and Power Development Authority (WAPDA) senior manager Aoun Mehdi said he is an Old Ravian, and feel great pride in it. He pledged that WAPDA would continue to extend its support and collaboration to GCU for organizing such healthy awareness activities.


WAPDA Lead Manager Maryam Ali and GCU Fine Arts Department Irfan Ullah Babr adjudicated the painting contest and appreciated the skills and intellect of the participants. The winners of the competitions were awarded cash prizes.




Waste segregation by colours at GCU


The Government College University Lahore in collaboration with the Lahore Waste Management Company (LWMC) Tuesday introduced an on-campus waste segregation system which was aimed at promoting cleanliness and recycling of waste materials for a greener planet for the future generations. The university’s Environment Protection Society (GCU-EPS) installed seven sets of color-coded dustbins on different spots on the campus; blue for plastic, green for paper and red for the glass, with an aim to collect a segregated waste which would be handed over to LWMC to ensure its recycling in the best possible manner.


Vice Chancellor Prof Dr Hassan Amir Shah inaugurated these coloured dustbins by collecting waste materials and putting them in the relevant dustbins, hoping that it would also encourage his students the staff members to use these dustbins.  GCU Sustainable Development Study Centre Director Dr Amtul Bari Tabinda, LWMC Director Human Resource Asad Farooq, Director Communication Jamil Khawar, and members of EPS were also present. The Vice Chancellor appreciated the support of the LWMC, a Turkish company, to GCU EPS, in its awareness drive regarding cleanliness and recycling of waste materials.


Earlier addressing seminar on waste segregation, LWMC Director Asad Farooq said this system of waste segregation through these colored dustbins would also be introduced in other educational institutions besides different areas of the City. Dr Tabinda highlighted the importance of 3R (reduce, reuse and recycle) for inheriting a safe planet to the future generations. She also said segregation reduces the amount of waste that needs to be sent to landfills. This is becoming increasingly important as land is beginning to become less available while the amount of waste only continues to increase.


The seminar was also followed by an on-campus walk to raise awareness among students about cleanliness and use of coloured dustbins. 





List of Office Bearers for the Session 2014-15



Tanzila Anjum

General Secretary

Aimon Tanvir Malghani

Senior Vice President

Tehreem Ahsan

Vice Presidents

Tayyaba Nasir (Finance)
Hadiya Amir (Communication)
Arfa Sikandar (Administration)
Iqra Fatima (Management)

Joint Secretary

Mohsin Ali, Sana Aslam

Additional Secretary

Hamza Yousaf, Muhammad Shehzad

Stage Secretary

Hajra Komal, Anita, Zubda Shabbir

IT Secretary

Maha Rabbani

Information Secretary

Mahnoor Ali, Ariba Khan

Press Secretary

Fiza Pir Dad, Anum Iqbal

Office Secretary

Aroosa Khan, Maira Mushtaq

Finance Secretary

Hira Anwaar, Saba Abbas, Rida Mohsin

Discipline Manager

Zara Anjum, Fatima Tariq, Dil Afroze, Ayesha Farooq

Event Managers

Rida Mushtaq, Sehrish Riaz, Abid Ali, Kiran Shafique, Iqra Tariq, Faiza Imran

Editor Publication

Syeda Khadija Tirmizi


Syeda Michelle Naqvi, Farooq Ahmed, Alghaya Asghar Mobeen Sohail, Azhar Ali, Ayesha Komal, Yasir Mehmood Iqra Shabbir, Shahzeb Mudassir, Amna Akram, Syeda Alina Batool, Rabia Shaukat

Executive Members

Ayesha Munir, Nida Bawar, Aneeza Naveed, Maryam Dogar, Ajwa Tahir, Afsheen Aslam, Anum Shehzadi

Naat Khawn

Sidra Anum



Former Presidents and Secretaries




General Secretary


Muhammad Ali

Hamza Shahbaz Sharif


Hamza Shahbaz Sharif

Samra Hameed


Sameera Sheikh

Abid Rafiq


Muhammad Irfan

Afshan Rathore


Asdaq Afzal

Asifa Lalarukh


Kiran Sarfraz

Hasan Feroze


Shumaila Qamar

Abbas Arsalan


Samiha Sajjad

M. Adnan Akhtar


Fatima Hassan

Kashif Zia Malik


Javeria Qayyum

Arbab Noor Nawaz Kasi


Sadia Gondal

Malik Wali Ullah Kasi


Fatima Afzal

Sabeel Hassan Chaudhary


Maria Saeed Khawaja

Taha Sadaqat


Sidra Afzal

Shahzad Anwar


Sidra Afzal

Sh. M. Tanzeel ur Rehman


Saad Iftekhar

Maria Jabeen


Sh. M. Tanzeel ur Rehman

Faizan Khan


M. Nauman Malik

Sufyan Ullah


Sufyan Ullah

Tehreem Raza


Tehreem Raza

Anmol Tabasum


Anmol Tabasum

Waqas Ahmad


Umar Ashraf

Iftikhar Ahmad


Tanzila Anjum

Aimon Tanvir



Contact Us


Dr. Amtul Bari Tabinda


Sustainable Development Study Centre

Advisor (EPS)

GC University, Lahore

UAN: 111-000-010 Ext: 256

Ph: +92-42-9213357-62


GCU Environmental Protection Society


Office Bearers
Former Presidents and Secretaries
News & Events
Contact Us



News & Events of Societies

Societies University Level


Blood Donor Society
Environmental Protection Society (EPS)
GCU Debating Society (GCUDS)
GCU Dramatics Club (GCUDC)
GCU Welfare Society
Hiking and Mountaineering Club
Horticultural Society
Library Society
Media Watch Society
Nazir Ahmad Music Society (NAMS)
Ravians' Quiz Society

Societies Departmental Level


Brett Philosophical Society
Dr. Mahbub-ul-Haq Undergraduate Economics Society
Fine Arts Society
Garrette History Society
Islamic Studies Society
Majlis-e- Sufi Tabassum
Punjabi Majlis
Quaid-e-Azam Political Science Society
Ravians Law Society
Young Journalism Society (YJS)




Scholarships/Fin.Aid | Societies | AP&EL  |  QEC | GCU Telephone | Downloads | GCU Emails  

Web Feed Back

© Copyright 2002- Chief Librarian GC University Library, Lahore. All Rights Reserved,   Disclaimer